Monday, September 19, 2016

Reflection on Place/Culture

      Humboldt County is the name of my home in which I have grown up in and it has many good things about it that I love to enjoy. One thing that really makes me proud of my hometown is that it has lots of places to adventure. I love adventuring in the forests around Humboldt County, I try to visit the different forests often, but because of my lack of knowing how to drive, that becomes quite a challenge. Another place that I love to adventure at is Strawberry Rock. It is a very good exercise to hike to the rock, and a very good exercise to climb to the top as well, not to mention the breathtaking view. Humboldt County has a lot of adventures to offer, as far as forests and hiking trails. Fortuna, which is the town within Humboldt County that I live in, is a very small town. Even though I love the small town that I live in, it can get rather boring sometimes.
      One thing that I would love to change about Fortuna is the amount of activities it has to offer. Most of the time it is hard to find anything at all to do around Fortuna besides hanging out with friends at the park or watching the latest movie that just came out in theaters. In my opinion, I think that is why most kids stay inside all weekend, is because they're tired of spending every weekend doing the same things, that they'd rather stay home and waste time on social media. I know I would spend less time at home during the weekends if there were more activities in Fortuna. Now, looking at Humboldt County as a whole, there is not much I would like to change about it. It is by far one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen in person. Nothing could ever compare to the beauties of my home.    

Sunday, September 18, 2016

All About Me

Hi, my name is Amber Nichole Culbert I am 14 years old, I live in the United States of America and I was born on January 9, 2002. I am a Sophomore, also known as in the 10th grade, at Fortuna High School. I enjoy reading and writing, mainly poetry. I started reading poetry when I was 11 years old and I fell in love with it instantly. My favorite poet is Billy Collins.
I also enjoy singing, very much. My favorite artists are Demi Lovato, Justin Bieber and Ed Sheeran. (My favorite songs by those artists are linked to their names). I have grown up playing sports my whole life. I enjoy playing sports, my favorite sports are volleyball and cheer leading. I also enjoy spending time with friends and family. My favorite foods are Pepperoni Pizza, Burritos, and Mac & Cheese. I love the sound of pianos, and I have tried to learn how to play the piano but never accomplished anything but 1 or 2 songs. However, my mother is an amazing piano player, so I am sure that I get the interest from her. I love to laugh, mainly because I do it very much, I laugh at almost anything that could be considered funny. I love pandas! I love any animal in general but pandas and sloths are my favorite animals.
Right now I live with both my parents, and I have two older sisters, who are both married with children, I have all nephews, 4 of them to be exact. I hope to move out of my parent's house after I have completed high school. I would like to go through college and graduate with a major in Creative Writing. I would also love to travel to random places around the world after college and write about the adventures that I have! Although, that is just a dream I have, because to travel you need money, and a lot of it, so I don't really know what is going to happen after I finish college.

I have a pretty large extended family, here is a picture of my whole family that live around where I live.
Top from left to right: My Aunt Melissa, Me, My nephew Mason, My nephew Karson, 
My father Douglas, My nana Nancy, My papa Tom, My mother Jennifer, My Brother In-law Bryce who is holding my nephew Tristan, My sister Kymberly who is holding my nephew Kyler. 
Bottom from left to Right: My uncle David, my cousin Kyra, My great grandmother Izzy, My sister Laura. 

~

Here is a picture with 2 of my nephews and I. 

Mason is in the red shirt and Karson is in the white shirt.

~

Here are pictures of my other 2 nephews that are not in the picture above.

Tristan is on the left and Kyler is on the right.

~

Here is a picture of my best friend and I when we were able to walk across the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco!

I am on the left and my best friend Jasmine is on the right.

If you would like to add me on Social Media here are my usernames! 

 Snapchat: ambs.nicholee
~
 Instagram: ambs.nichole